Showing posts with label Ash. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Ash. Show all posts

Monday, January 7, 2013

A New Challenger



[“Crying Like a Bitch” blasts over the PA system and Bruno Kowalski walks out from behind the curtain dressed in his black leather coat and jeans.  He walks down to the ring, fist-bumping fans on the way down.  He climbs into the ring and takes a mic.]

Bruno:  Everyone knows that I’m a man of few words.  I let my fists and boots do the talking for me mostly.  Last season, I came into the NRWL as a hot prospect.  I did pretty good, but I just didn’t seem to be able to turn that corner.  But this season is a little different, and now I think I’m ready to take that next step.  I think I’m ready to hold that championship gold.  That’s right.  I want a crack at the title.  And I want it at the next show!

[The crowd cheers with approval.  Then, “What You Got” suddenly blasts over the speakers.  Ash runs out from behind the curtain, high stepping and pumping up the crowd.  He holds the NRWL Championship belt overhead at the top of the ramp.  He drapes it over his shoulder and runs down to the ring, slapping hands on his way down.  He gets a mic and climbs into the ring.]

Ash:  Bruno!  My man!  I’m a big fan and I’m honored that you want to challenger for my belt.  Wait, hold on a sec…

[Ash runs up on the turnbuckle and holds the belt over head and pumps his arm, firing up the crowd.  He climbs back down and walks back over to Bruno.]

Ash:  Sorry about that.  It’s the type of things you have to do when you’re simultaneously the NRWL Champion and the fans’ favorite wrestler!  But anyway, back to your challenge.  I’m all about it!  …….But see, the thing is….. I’m a big fan of yours.  I’ve been pulling for you since the NRWL re-launched.  I know that both you and I are the 2 best wrestler to come out of the “new batch.”  Having said that, I don’t think that….and don’t take this the wrong way….I don’t think that you’re quite ready to take me.

[The cheers from the crowd quiet down slightly, and Bruno folds his arms and stares at Ash.]

Ash:  No!  Hear me out!  I don’t mean any disrespect.  But…think about it.  You’ve had most of your success this season in tag team matches.  On top of that, nobody gave me a chance against that colossus, Tiger Johnson.  And not only did I beat him, but I REALLY beat him, and he suffered a very unfortunate injury in the process.  Again, no disrespect, but are you sure you’re ready to step up to the plate and take the challenge?  There’s no telling when you might get another crack at the title.  Are you sure you want to waste your shot now?

Bruno:  Excuse me.  “Waste my shot?”  You know, for all the “no disrespect” talk, you’re certainly being disrespectful.  But if that’s how you see it, then yes.  I’ll “waste my shot!”  Ash, I’m not overlooking you.  You’re more than a formidable opponent.  People don’t walk around with the NRWL title for no reason.  But know this.  I’m coming for that belt.  I’ll be ready for you, so you’d better be ready for me.

[“Crying Like a Bitch” blasts again, and Bruno and Ash stare each other in the eye.  Ash raises the title overhead with one arm.  Bruno says some inaudible words, points at the belt, then pantomimes the belt around his waist.  Ash shakes his head back and forth and points to himself as the scene fades out.]

Saturday, December 15, 2012

Storm Watch with NRWL Champion Ash

Announcer: It's time for Storm Watch with Storm Harrison! Our guest tonight, the current NRWL Champion, Ash! Music by Tony Raine and the Tornadoes! And your host, STORRRRRRMM HARRRRRIIISSSOOONN!!!

*Storm Harrison comes out to the stage as Tony Raine and the Tornadoes play entrance music for him. He smiles and points to the band nodding his head in approval. He stands by his desk and nods to the crowd who boo him heavily. He smiles and then takes a seat behind his desk.*

Storm Harrison: As always, good to see you Mr. Tony Raine. How are you today?

Tony Raine: I am doing just fine, thank you. Pretty crazy stuff going on around the ol' NRWL, wouldn't you say?

SH: I know it! It's really quite exciting. You know, I've been around since the beginning of last season and I have to say, things have really evolved between then and now. Have you noticed how brutal it is getting out there in the ring?

TR: Really. It's a warzone out there!

SH: Yeah, you know, speaking of wars, we had Tiger Johnson on the show last time. He was preparing for his match against Ash for the NRWL Championship. Tiger Johnson has been through his share of battles but he didn't make it through this last one. Fans, Tiger Johnson was put down for the count, possibly forever. Ash put ol' TJ out of commission. The latest I heard is that he's not coming back to the ring. Not not, not ever.

TR: Well, you never know, Storm. He could make a comeback!

*Both men stare at each other for a moment and burst out laughing.*

SH: Ah, that was a good one. That was good! Well, enough about last week's guest. This week's guest is a real crippler. He's ruined Tiger Johnson's hopes, dreams, maybe his whole life! Give a round of applause for the current NRWL Champion, ASH!

*Ash comes out from behind the curtain to thunderous applause. he walks over to the Storm Watch set and stands in front of the desk and holds the title overhead triumphantly. The crowd cheers again enthusiastically. Ash takes a seat.*

SH: Ash, good to see you and welcome to Storm Watch.

Ash: Thank you Storm. Hold on one second....

*Ash stands up again and raises his fists in the air, riling up the crowd. Ash sits back down*

Ash: Sorry about that. Thanks for having me, Mr. Harrison. It's good to be out here.

SH: I bet it is. Being on Storm Watch is a true accomplishment. You might say that you've finally arrived in the business! You have been the NRWL champion since the start of Season Five, beating that thug Johnny Young. Since becoming champion, you've been quite impressive. You are the first champion since Season Three to successfully defend the title! You just successfully defended the title against Tiger Johnson. How confident were you that you would win and break the championship curse?

Ash: Well, Storm, I was fairly confident that I would retain the title, but I knew it wasn't a sure bet. Tiger Johnson is a fierce competitor. I knew I had to bring my A-game and knew I had to execute my game plan flawlessly. If I didn't, Tiger would've definitely capitalized, and he'd be the one on your show right now, telling you about how he won the title.

SH: Thankfully that didn't happen. I had him on my show last time and he was a real bore. He was so confident. He was so sure he would win! But I knew better. I was certain that you would be sitting here right now.... but I didn't expect you to do it so brutally. Ash, the NRWL fans and the wrestling world at large want to know. Just how GOOD did it feel to not only win your match, but do it so definitively! You didn't just win the match, you crippled that old geezer right in the middle of the ring!

Ash: Well, geeze, Storm, that's kinda a harsh way to put it. I didn't intend on injuring him so severely. I really hope he has a full and speedy recovery. Winning felt good. Putting Tiger on the PUP list...not so much.

SH: Not so severely but there's no doubt you meant to do him in. You need only look at your actions. You dropped him in your finisher twice in a row. It was great, really it was. This is a rough business and you showed the world that you are a champion who is here to leave his mark and his legacy. You're off to a fantastic start.

Ash: Well, Storm. It IS a rough business and everyone on the roster knows that when you step in the ring, it's a risk. I did put Tiger in my finisher twice in a row. But I felt I had to in order to best him. Of course, when I saw the medical staff tending to him afterwards, I felt sick to my stomach. Tiger is a stand up guy and a fighter. He should be actively wrestling because he adds so much the NRWL talent pool, and not on IR.

SH: You'll be pleased to hear that Tiger is home from the hospital. Doctors say he's going to make a recovery. He can soon resume a normal life but he won't be adding much to the NRWL anymore. As for you, you'll be moving on to your next opponent. It could be anyone. Tiger Johnson was so loved that I can't imagine you have any friends left backstage.

Ash: You might need to ask for your money back from your sources, Storm, because I still have plenty of friends backstage and out in the crowd here. But, I also understand that as NRWL champion, every man on the roster has me in their crosshairs. But if anyone has a problem with me, they can say it to my face or take it up with me in the ring.

*Storm looks down at his desk and shakes his head.*

SH: I have to admit, Ash. I really expected more from you in this interview. You make a name for yourself as champion and you aren't even proud of it. I'm not sure why the fans find you interesting at all. I really need to get better guests on this show.

Ash: You expect more from me?? I'm the NRWL champion! I am proud of my accomplishment. And really, you're the last person to critique someone on how interesting they are. Didn't you get fire last season or something for being forgettable?

SH: I'll have you know I was badly injured by Johnny Young! You and Johnny aren't so different, you know. The only difference between you two is that Johnny knows that the NRWL is getting meaner, darker, and the days of heroes are over. The fans will turn on you and move on. Mark my words. You're a leftover from a time we're leaving behind!

Ash: Johnny and I are aren't so different, you're right - we're championship material. And Tiger Johnson is going to come back from his injury and compete again and in all likelihood challenge for the NRWL Championship belt again. What I don't think Tiger is going to do when he comes back is create a lame "talk show" where he tries to make build himself up in his mind to make up for a lackluster run as a wrestler in the NRWL.

SH: Lame? Tiger can only hope to have such a classy show like this. If you don't want to be here, you can leave. We can have a good time without you. I only had you on as a guest because the NRWL made me.

Ash: And I'm only on here because I owed my agent a favor. But if you won't want me out here, I'll happily leave. You can have your "classy show" if it makes you feel good. Somehow, I will have to cope with only being *stands up and yells to crowd* NRWL CHAMPION!!! YEAH!!!! 

*Ash holds the belt overhead and pumps his fist the air. He turns and faces Storm, and dangles the belt in front of Storm's face for a few seconds and walks off the set.*

SH: Yeah, get lost, and... and take your flannel shirt with you!

*Storm frowns and looks to the camera for a moment before recomposing himself.*

SH: Thanks for watching. Next time, I'm going to see to it that I get to pick my own guest. What a terrible choice. Doesn't look like a champion at all. I'd easily mistake him for an audience member. What a .. *The scene fades out while Storm is still grumbling.*

Friday, November 30, 2012

Didn't Go As Planned



*“What You Got” by Reveille blasts over the loud speakers.  The fans explode into the cheers as Ash runs out from behind the curtain.  He stands at the top of the ramp, polishes the NRWL Championship belt with the sleeve of his hoodie, and makes his way down to the ring, slapping fans’ hands along the way.  He climbs in and grabs a mic*

Ash:  That’s what I like to hear!  Yeah!!!  Well, today is the day!  Today I go one-on-one with Tiger Johnson!

*The fans cheer at Tiger’s name*

Ash:  Absolutely!  You’re right!  Nothing but respect for the guy!  If I’m going against anyone, I’m glad it’s him.  I’ve been a fan of his for a long time!  I remember watching him in the MoW.  He is a tough dude.  But don’t worry everyone.  I WILL win this match!  Tiger, if you’re listening, I fully expect you to bring your A-game, cause I’m bringing mine!

*Suddenly, “Dazzle Vision” by PV screams out over the speakers, and Katsutoshi and Leiko walk down to the ring and climb in.  Katsutoshi takes a mic*

Katsutoshi:  Ash……… *dryly*  the “fans favorite” wrestler.

*crowd cheers, reinforcing the name*

Katsutoshi:  How does it feel to be such a phony?  Please tell me.  I want to know.  Do you realize that in 2 matches I have accomplished more that you have in your run here so far?  My last match with Fraust alone was better that all your matches combined!  Fruast was at least SOMEBODY at one point.  But I showed, quite resoundingly, that he’s not that same guy.  I beat him down and KO’ed him and left him lying there drooling on himself.  It was a thing of beauty!  But even a washed-up Fraust is way more of a challenege than you.  I—

Ash:  Here.  Let me save you some time because you’re boring everyone.  “Blah blah you’re great.  Blah blah I suck.  Blah blah you should be champion.  Blah blah you want a title shot.”  Am I close?

Katsutoshi:  Very funny, Ash.  But even in your jokes, the truth seeps though.  You know that I deserve a title shot!

*”Crying Like a Bitch” chugs out, and the crowd erupts as Bruno Kowalski comes out.  He goes down to the ring and climbs in*

Bruno:  How about that?  Another newcoming spouting out about how he “deserves” a title shot.  It’s really getting tiresome.  You.  Jacob Washington.  Tommy V.  Tiger Johnson.  Who are you to say you deserve ANYTHING around here?  I’ll tell you what you deserve.  You deserve to have your ass handed to you by me!

Katustoshi:  Bring it on, Polish Powerhouse.  I’ll dispose of you like that other piece of trash, John Fruast.  Then, Ash.  I’m coming for you, if you make it past Tiger Johnson.  You lucked out in him winning the Fatal 4 way, because he’s almost as inept as you are.

Ash:  Don’t worry about me.  You should be worried about Bruno.

Katsutoshi:  The only thing I’m worried about from Bruno is getting the grease from his hair on me.

Bruno:  You know, Katsutoshi.  Since you made such a big deal about knocking John Fraust out, why don’t you try me on?  Let’s make it KO match.

Katsutoshi:  Fine.  Whatever what you think is best for you to save face when you lose.

*Suddenly, four members of the audience jump the barrier and run into the ring carrying the chairs they were sitting on.  They proceed to attack Katsutoshi, Ash, and Bruno, beating them down with chairs.  Soon, the three men on the ground lie motionless, and the four men standing with the now bent up chairs turn to reveal that it is Tommy V, Marcus, Mikey Armstrong, and Paul Priest.  The four men exit the ring and walk up the ramp, smiling and raising their fists triumphantly.*

Sunday, November 18, 2012

Elements of Surprise?



*”One Trick Pony” by Deadmau5 pumps over the PA system and Tommy V walks down to the ring to a choir of boo’s from the crowd.  He climbs into the ring and takes a mic.*

Tommy:  Well, how about that?  Ash is the new champion, and his first item of business is to not defend the belt.  What a champion!  I’m not sure whether to chalk it up to fear, or business savvy.  Because being the champ is quite a lucrative job.  Might as well milk it as long as you can, right Ash?

*”What You Got” by Reveille suddenly kicks on and the crowd cheers as Ash makes his way down to the ring.  He takes a mic and climbs in*

Ash:  Well, well, well here’s another one.  Let me guess, you want a crack at the title too?  See if you can figure this out.  What is the difference between you and Jacob Washington, Hardcore Adam, and Tiger Johnson?  I’ll give you a hint…..They all won their matches last week!

*crowd cheers at the dig.  Tommy scowls*

Ash:  In fact, Tiger beat you, didn’t he?  I don’t even know why you are—

*Ash is cutoff when “Hero” by Skillet starts playing.  Marcus makes his way down to the ring*

Marcus:  Pop quiz, Ash.  What do I have in common with those three guys?  I won my match too!  Yet I don’t see you dolling out a chance at the title to me.  Nope.  Let’s call a spade a spade.  You picked your friends and favorites instead of people who legitimately deserve a crack at that belt of yours.  It’s time for a change, and it’s time for a real hero to step up and wield that title.

*Triumphant music begins playing and Mikey Armstrong makes his way to the ring*

Mikey:  Ash, I remember you.  I’m pretty sure I beat you last season, right?  In fact, I beat everybody who came at me last season.  I’m pretty amazing in that regard.  Did you do anything like that?  No.  I think you actually lost your first match.  Yet what recognition do I get from you?  None.  Marcus is right.  You don’t know a thing about who deserves anything.  You might as well have just picked names out of hat.

*”Stardog Champion” plays and Paul Priest comes down to the ring.  He walks up to Ash and smiles at him.  Without warning, he kicks Ash in the gut.  Ash doubles over and the other 3 start wailing blows down onto Ash.  Ash falls down and turtles while the other 4 continue to stomp him.  Suddenly, Marty Anderson and Balance come running down the ring.  The crowd cheers loudly at the rescue as Marty punches Marcus in the face and who falls and Marty begins stomping away.  Balance grabs Mikes and throws him into the turnbuckle and starts punching him.  Tommy and Paul continue beating on Ash.  Then suddenly, Scotty Paris runs out from behind the curtain and the crowd goes nuts!  Scotty books it down the ramp.  Paul looks up and notices him and squares off.  Scotty slides into the ring and charges at Paul.  Paul tries to clothesline Scotty, who ducks under it, rebounds off the robes and delivers and vicious spear to Paul that almost breaks him in half!  Scotty rains down punches and the two roll out of the ring, brawling.  Meanwhile, Marty tosses Marcus out of the ring and runs over and punches Tommy and throws him out of the ring.  Balance clotheslines Mikey over the turnbuckles and he splats on the floor.  Paul escapes Scotty and runs over to the ramp and turns and faces the ring.  Tommy, Marcus, and Mikey do the same.  The 4 of them link hands and hold them up in the air.  Ash, Marty, and Balance stand in the ring yelling at them.  Scotty stands on the floor below and points and screams at Paul.  Scene fades out.*


Wednesday, November 14, 2012

Matchmaker

*"What You Got" by Reveille blasts over the speakers and the crowd is instantly on its feet.  Ash emerges backstage with the NRWL Championship belt held overhead.  He makes his way down the ramp, slapping fans' hands and pumping up the crowd on his way.  He climbs into the ring and continues riling up the crowd.  After a minute, he puts the belt around his waist, takes the mic and the cheers quell...*

Ash:  Hey everyone.  Guess what?  The fans' favorite wrestler....IS THE NRWL CHAMPION!!!

*crowd explodes with cheers*

Ash:  Boy, does this feel good!  A guy can get used to this *shines belt around his waist with the sleeve of his hoodie*  My hat, if I had one, goes off to Johnny Young.  He gave me a tough fight.  But I knew it wasn't going to be a walk in the park because--

*"Breathe Into Me" by Red starts playing and Jacob Washingtong steps out to the stage.  He walks down to the ring and stops on the mat outside of the ring.  He takes a mic.*

Jacob:  I'm really sorry to interrupt your celebration here, Ash, but I just can't stand by idly and let you make an idiot out of yourself.  Listen to you!  It's embarrassing!  You're doing everything in your power to squeeze every last bit of approval from these people out here.  Are you really that insecure?  Just stop it already.

Ash:  Who.....*who* are you?  I'm sorry sir, but you must be lost.  It's a big arena so it's understandable.  Please see an usher and they will help you locate your seat.

*crowd laughs at Jacob*

Jacob:  *smiling*  Oh ho ho!  Aren't you a clever boy?  Cracking jokes and dishing out fourth-grade level digs.  Way to act the champion.  What exactly did you do to earn that title shot?  I'll answer that for you.  Nothing.  And now you're out here parading it around like you're great or something.

Ash:  I am great!  Just like these fans here!  You're not bad yourself.  You did quite well in your match.  But...you're a rookie, and that's all I got for you.

Jacob:  So you beat Johnny Young!  Big whoop!  He hasn't done anything worth anything his entire NRWL career.  And actually, neither have you!  In fact, I'll go a step further and say that EVERYONE who has ever held the best since Season 3, is a complete and total joke!  As of now, that belt really has no value, if any dork can hold it and it's not offered to deserving talent!

Ash:  Let's cut to the chase, Jacob, cause I'm done wasting time with you.  Your out here because you want a crack at this I'll bet.  Am I right?

Jacob:  Yeah!

Ash:  Why do you deserve a title shot?

Jacob:  I--

Ash:  I'll answer for you.  You don't!

*crowd cheers with approval.  Jacob smiles and rolls his eyes.  He walks over to the steps and climbs them slowly and steps into the ring.  He steps toe-to-toe with Ash and looks him in the eye, still smiling wily. Just then, "Stain" by Full Devil Jackets plays.  Ash and Jacob turn their gaze towards the top of the ramp, and Johnny Young steps out to a thunderous applause from the crowd.  He walks down to the ring, grabs a mic, and steps in and leans back against the turnbuckle.*

Johnny:   Aaawww yeeeaahh...how about we start talking about how the Star Player fits into all this?  Ash, who is this guy you let into the ring?

Ash:  Jared Wilkenson.

*Jacob turns to Johnny and stands right in his face*

Jacob:  My name is Jacob Washington.  You got something to say to me?

Johnny:  Jacob....Jacob...?  Oh!  You're the guy who said a minutes ago that I never accomplished anything in the NRWL.  Interesting...I didn't think being a 2-time NRWL Champion qualified as "not accomplishing anything."  Congratulations on your incredible display of ignorance.  I'm wondering when I'm going to get a rematch, because Jacob, you clearly aren't next in line for anything!  You are irrelevant.

Jacob:  Might I point out, that you lost your title....to THIS guy?  *Jacob points at Ash*  That's all the proof anyone needs to know that you are a bigger joke than he is.  But me, I'm the real deal!  I'm gonna--

*"Wake Up* by myDownfall starts blasting and "Hardcore" Adam comes out to cheers.  He also climbs into the ring with a mic.*

Adam:  All this talk about "rookies" and "deserving" and "next in line,"....you know, I'm usually pretty low key.  I don't ask for a lot.  I go out, I do my job, and I go home.  But it certainly seems that the only way you get cracks at the belt is by coming out here, beating your chest, and crying for a shot.  That's not my style, but if that's what it takes, then here we go.  Ash, congratulations on your first title win, but I'm better than you.  Johnny, you're the star player, but I'm better than you.  Jacob, you're tough as nails, but I'm better than you.  I want a shot at that belt.

*Tiger Johnson's theme hits and Tiger walks down to the ring.  He climbs in with a mic*

Tiger:  Ok, listen up everybody.  Everyone in this ring can might have a valid claim for a title shot.  But here's another way to look at who should get a title shot.  I've been in the business for a long time.  "Hardcore" Adam can attest to that.  Hell, I remember when he was just called "Adam" and was known as the "Master of Submissions."  But besides that, I'm the biggest man in the NRWL, I'm the toughest man in the NRWL, and I have the most devastating moves in the NRWL.  I'm sure Adam can vouch for the power of the leg.  So that belt should belong to the toughest guy in the federation, and that's me!

*Jacob, Johnny, Adam, and Tiger all get in each others' faces and start quarreling*

Ash:  Guys!  Guys!  Cool it!  I'm the champion, and not only am I the champion, but I'm also the fans favorite!  *crowd cheers*  I have my finger on the vein of what the fans want because I'm on the same page as they are!  And rather than listen to you guys all talk about how great you are, we want to see you show us how great you are!  So, I propose a Fatal 4-Way match between you, with the winner getting #1 contender and a shot at the belt the following show!

*crowd cheers are prospective match*

Ash:  But remember, once one of you proves that you're better than the other three, you still have the hard part after that - ME!  *Ash hold the belt overhead to a loud cheer*  Good luck, gentlemen.  I'll see one of you at the following show!

*"What You Got" blasts and Ash exits the ring, holding the belt up in one hand the his fist up in the other, pumping up the crowd as he walks backwards up the ramp.  The four men in the ring stare at him as he walks away, and then they all turn and face each other silently as the scene fades*

Sunday, October 21, 2012

The Star Champion Speaks

*Jay Phillips is standing in the middle of the ring. The crowd is very energetic and Jay is smiling as he takes in the energy in the arena.*

Jay Phillips: NRWL fans, welcome to Season Five! The last time we saw you, a new champion was crowned. I am standing in this ring tonight to introduce that man to you right now. Ladies and gentlemen, your NRWL Champion, "The Star Player" Johnny Young!!!

*The crowd boos as Johnny Young's music begins playing. He emerges from backstage wearing his sunglasses, exercise pants, and white t-shirt. The NRWL Championship is draped over his shoulder. He walks down the ring slowly and looks around at all the fans. He climbs into the ring and stands in the middle holding the title above his head with one arm.*

JP: Johnny Young. Let me be the first to congratulate you for your victory. How does it feel to be the NRWL Champion?

*Johnny takes off his sunglasses and places them on the collar of his t-shirt. He takes the microphone from Jay and looks up to the ceiling for a moment before speaking.*

Johnny Young: Jay, I started my career when the NRWL started. I've been a part of this company throughout the seasons, the years, and it's the only home I've ever known. I held this title once before early in my career but it was my only taste. When season four started, I came back. I was the only one who came back. Truthfully, it was an honor. I came in and did what I do best. It wasn't until halfway through the season I realized that I wasn't getting any younger. I was considered the veteran. I'm in my early 30's and I'm considered a veteran. I had a moment of clarity. I could do what I do. I could come out, make some noise, put on a good match, and do the same thing the next night, or, I could go a step further. I could focus on defining a legacy. That's what I decided to do. I needed to push myself even harder and put the pieces in place for a Hall of Fame career.

*Johnny lifts the NRWL Championship belt in the air again.*

JY: This... the NRWL Championship, means to much to me. It means that I am the top dog in this company. I really am The Star Player and I intend to be for a long time. You fans may not always like me but I give you everything I've got every night and I will continue to do so.

*The crowd, though still mostly booing, begins to split and there there is a minority of audience members who are cheering.*

JY: Unlike some other champions we've had, I know what it means to be the holder of this title and I know what it means to be defending champion. I won't hide from the challenges and I'll take every single one seriously. Being NRWL Champion requires nothing less. I don't know who will be my first opponent but you can rest assured that they will be in for the fight of their life. Johnny Young, "The Star Player", is the champion that the NRWL has always deserved and I will prove it.

*More fans begin to cheer. Suddenly, Ash's music starts to play and the crowd erupts into cheers. Johnny steps back to the ropes and leans against them while twirling the microphone in his hand, waiting for Ash to come down to the ring. Ash appears from backstage and slaps fan's hands on the way down and trying to get them pumped up. It doesn't take much effort, the fans are going nuts for Ash. He climbs into the ring. Johnny pushes off the ropes and stands in the middle of the ring to meet Ash. Both men stand face to face for a few moments. Finally, Ash cuts the tension by speaking into his microphone.*

Ash: Well, look at this. Hardcore Johnny Young... oh no, sorry. Regular Johnny Young. NRWL Champion! Congratulations! No! Truly! I mean it. You and I put together teams. The winning team captain would get a title shot. I have to admit it. The best man won. He did. Mikey Armstrong totally won that thing. Ever since that night, I haven't stopped asking myself, "Why, Ash? Why didn't you pick Mikey for your team?"

JY: Well, you didn't pick him, I did. And Mikey wasn't the one who got the most important job done. It was me who pinned Slam Jackson at the next event. It was me who defeated the NRWL Champion and that's what counts. Sounds to me like someone is just a sore loser.

Ash: Not at all! In fact, I couldn't be less sore. This isn't about that. I'm here for a completely different reason. You see, the color tournament was missing something that I think the fans really wanted to see. *Ash looks out at the crowd and shakes his head.* No, not an appearance by Red Love, though it would have fit the theme perfectly! No, the fans didn't get to see Johnny Young vs. Ash.

*The crowd bursts into cheers. Both wrestlers look around at the crowd. Ash smiles and looks back at Johnny.*

Ash: So, I was in the back listening to you and you said you'd be a fighting champion. We didn't get to fight as team captains, and seeing as you need an opponent, I think you've got your man. What do you say to that?

JY: Ash, you want a title shot against me? You want to challenge "The Star Player"? Well, you got it! Take a look at this championship belt right now because it's the closest you are going to get to it.

*Johnny holds the belt up once again. Ash is smiling as both men trade some inaudible verbal barbs. Johnny puts the championship belt back over his shoulder. Ash walks out of the ring first and Johnny stands in the middle of the ring for a moment before climbing the ropes and holding the belt high over his head. The crowd gives a mixed response for the new NRWL Champion. Jay Phillips picks up the microphone as Johnny leaves the ring.*

JP: It's official! Johnny Young will defend the NRWL Championship against Ash at the next event. Season Five is already heating up and we're just getting started!

Thursday, November 10, 2011

A Great Challenge!

*Ash is in the backstage interview area with Jay Phillips*

Jay: I’m back here now with Ash. Ash, you’ve had several weeks to reflect on the Colors Tournament. What are your thoughts on it now?

Ash: Well Jay, obviously I’m disappointed by not winning the tournament and thus I won’t get my much deserved title shot next. It stinks, Jay. We started off strong with some big time wins by Marty Anderson and Abbadon, but after that things kind of fell apart. I’m not pointing fingers at anyone, but the turning point clearly was our first loss. It was just demoralizing to the rest of the team and it gave match control to Johnny Young. But, one person can’t be blamed because we win as a team and lose as a team and unfortunately, Mark Blood was on our team and lost. I suppose as team captain I bear a fraction of the burden for believing in him and also for overestimating his abilities--thinking he can get a victory over a seasoned veteran like Johnny Young. So, yes, I’m partially to blame, but I can’t wrestle *for* Mark, so we know that most of the load falls on his shoulders, which were flat to the mat for the 3 count, costing the team victory and glory. But, like I said, it was a team effort, and our team mate Mark lost if for us.

Jay: *furls his brow in puzzlement*

Ash: But I’m not here to harp on Mark Blood. He’s got his hands full right now picking fights with Polish people! I’m here for another reason. There’s a guy in our fed who’s made quite a splash and continues making all kinds of waves. And his name is Mikey Armstrong. I tell you what, I respect this kid. He came out of the woodwork and nobody gave him a chance. Not even you Jay, and you give everyone a chance! I hear a lot of people talking about him being an “upcoming superstar” or “having potential.” But what are these people waiting for? He’s here and he’s the real deal. I tell you what, I’m a fan!

Jay: Huh?

Ash: Yup, I’m a fan of Mikey Armstrong! Check it out, I bedazzled the back of my shirt!

*Ash turns around to show a poorly bedazzled “Miky” with a crude, round shape below the letters”

Jay: You spelled “Mikey” wrong.

Ash: Well, I didn’t have enough space because I cut off the sleeves, but it gets the point across.

Jay: Do you have a “Disco Stu” jacket, too?

Ash: *stone-faced* What are you implying?

Jay: Er.....what’s that underneath “Mikey?”

Ash: Oh! That’s....an arm flexing with a huge bicep. You know, it’s like a ‘strong arm.’ Ha ha! I thought it was clever. I’m getting great feedback on it!

Jay: Indeed. So, why are you challenging Mikey anyway?

Ash: Well, in my opinion, Mikey is the wrestling at another level right now. He’s on a hot streak. And as the saying goes, iron sharpens iron. So for me to improve, I need to wrestle someone who’s skill level is pretty close to mine. And not only is he undefeated in the NRWL, but he’s also battled back from cancer to win the Tour de France, founded Green Day, and walked on the moon!

Jay: Um...I don’t think all those people were him

Ash: Oh come on Jay! How many people can possibly have the last name “Armstrong?” But this is the match everyone wants to see! The undefeated streaker, Mikey! And the fans’ favorite NRWL wrestler, ME! It’ll be great! Mikey, you bring your A game, because “A” stands for “Ash!” And stands for all the “fAns!” Because you can’t spell “fans” without “Ash!”
Jay: There’s no “H” in “fans.”

Ash: It’s right after the “F” and it’s silent. But this isn’t about being silent! This about making some noise! And that’s what Mikey, myself, and all the fans are going to do this Friday night! Yeah!

*Ash walks off camera fist-pumping and hollering excitedly*

Jay: Words from a very animated Ash. Will Mikey respond?

Sunday, August 14, 2011

Surprise!

*Ash is waling through arena back hallways with a card and pen. He turns the corner and bumps into Rex Anarchy*

Rex: Watch it, punk!

Ash: Oh! Hi Rex! I didn’t see you walking there!

Rex: I know! Now get out of my way!

Ash: Wait! Check it out, Rex! *shows Rex the card* It’s got a chimp on it!

Rex: *reading front of card outloud* “It’s your birthday…”

*Ash opens card*

Rex: *reading inside of card* “Go bananas. Happy birthday.” …..That’s stupid!

Ash: It’s Mr. Charles’s birthday today! So I got him a birthday card and I’m having all the wrestlers sign it!

Rex: What?

Ash: Yeah, here look. There’s a space right after the “Happy birthday” so he’ll see your name first probably!

Rex: And everyone else signed this? Yeah right…

Ash: Well…no. Just Slam Jackson right now. But I’m sure most of them will get back to me. So there's plenty of real estate open if case you wanted to write a longer birthday wish.

Rex: *Turns and stares right into Ash’s face* You….are what’s wrong with wrestling these days.

Ash: You know, you keep that attitude up, and I’m not gong to pick you on my team for this upcoming tournament, mister.

*Rex scowls in disgust and walks away*

Ash: *calls after Rex* Don't worry! I know you’re busy! I’ll just sign your name for you! *opens card and begins writing* “To the best boss ever, hope your birthday ‘Rex’ havoc! Yours, R. Anarchy.”

*Ash smiles as the scene fades out*

Wednesday, July 6, 2011

Backstage Bedlam!

*Jay Phillips is in the interview area backstage*

 Jay: Hi everyone! Jay Phillips here! I'm backstage here with Scotty "The Body" Paris! Scotty....tough loss to Slam Jackson at the last event.

Scotty: "Tough?" "Tough???" More like "unfair!" What was that crap?? Somebody tell that ref to go back to Sesame Street and learn that 2, not 3, comes after 1!!!

Jay: I think I have to agree with you this time, Scotty. Even from my viewpoint, the count seemed rather quick. But, he's human, and like the rest of us, makes a mistake every now and then.

Scotty: Save the diplomatics, Phillips! This was an outrage, and I fully expect to be compensated for this!

Jay: What are you proposing?

Scotty: I want an immediate title shot. That's the only fair thing to do.

Jay: A title shot?!? But--

Scotty: That's right. They owe me—

*suddenly, Ash walks onto the scene*

Scotty: Hey! Get out of my interview! The soup kitchen is in the back of the building, bum!

Ash: Did I hear you wanted a title shot?

Scotty: Oh, it's Ass-sh. It's more that it's owed to me, than my wanting. But yeah!

Ash: I think you already have your shot in that briefcase.

Scotty: What?!? Are you suggesting I use my earned Money In the Bank title shot to right a wrong that was done to me? Why don't you wash your hair because the layer of oil and dirt is stopping air from getting to your brain!

Ash: Here's the thing, Scotty. Champions and championship contenders are usually .....hmm.... how to put it? They're usually people who actually win matches! With the exception of your ladder match victory--which I attribute more to Rex and Apollyon preoccupied with beating each other and losing focus rather than you actually winning in a definitive way--you've just been getting the crap kicked out of you. Some #1 contender material you'd make!

*Suddenly Slam Jackson jumps into the scene*

Scotty:  What is this?  A cardboard box convention?  Now where did this hobo come from???

Slam:  If there’s one man that the Slamnation wants to see holding the Championship strap, it’s this guy right here *Slam points to himself*  AIN’T THAT RIGHT, SLAMNATION?!?

*hollers and cheers are heard off camera, with an especially loud one directly in the camera from the cameraman*

Slam:  *to Scotty, Ash, and Jay* The Slamnation population is growing rapidly, people.  And the good citizens want a trophy they can be proud of!

Scotty:  How about one of those derby’s with a top punched out of it?

Slam:  Scotty, for all the money you have, you can’t seem to buy a win or a break.  So until you get one of those, let the big boys talk about the important matters.  Go dip your toes in your pool, or maybe soak your head in it.

Scotty: I don’t believe this…

Ash:  Heh heh…soak his head.

*Mark Blood now enters the scene with the other 4 men*

Mark:  I hear you guys talking about #1 contender status, and I have this to say.  Ash, you’ve been on quite the streak, so maybe you deserve shot.  Slam, you’ve been making an impact since day one, so maybe you deserve a shot.  Scotty….you haven’t done anything except be loud.  You don’t deserve anything.

Scotty:  Hey!

Mark:  As for me, I had a rocky start.  But you know what?  When just about everyone gave up on me, I dug deep, believed in myself, and turned it all around.  I have heart.  And THAT is a championship quality.  And if anyone knows anything about heart, it’s someone named “Blood!”

*After a few seconds of silence, Ash turns to Slam*

Ash:  He’s got a point.

*Slam pinches his chin with his thumb and index finger, juts out his lower lip, raises his eyebrows, and nods in agreement with Ash*

Scotty:  What the--?  This is insane.  I don’t care anyone pumping Blood.  This interview, this whole segment is about ME and the injustice that I suffered at the last event.  What’s wrong with everyone?!?

*The 4 wrestlers all start bantering with each other.  Jay ducks under to the front of the crowd*

Jay:  Four men all vying for the rank of #1 contender.  How will the NRWL management decide who is worthy of the title shot.  Check back soon as I’m sure an announcement will come within a day or two!  This is Jay Phillips signing off!